Throwback to the Places _ VR Festival 2021!

From 16 to 18 September, Bochumer Straße in Gelsenkirchen presented itself for the third time as a centre for the German and international VR scene. The wide range of applications showed that VR & AR are increasingly finding their way into our everyday lives. Around 6,000 visitors online and on site experienced extended reality applications from a wide range of fields and exciting speakers and online shows: 

On the very first evening of the Places _ VR Festival, it became clear what the field of Extended Reality is all about: innovation. This was impressively demonstrated by the participants of the Places _ Startup Pitch, who showed with their ideas that a successful implementation of XR technologies requires creative entrepreneurial spirit. In the end, the Bochum-based startup “Digifactura” was able to convince the jury with an application for museums that spatially displays art objects. After the award ceremony, there was time for the other startups to exchange ideas and network in the best festival atmosphere in the courtyard of the festival centre, which remained the hub of the Places _ VR Festival for the next few days.

Not only the Places _ Startup Pitch showed what an important role VR and AR play in art. In the “KauVR”, immersive art was able to unfold freely in a former supermarket on more than 540 square metres and let visitors dive into virtual art worlds with applications by international artists.
Bochumer Straße also became an exhibition space outside the supermarket: with the “Artificial Museum” by the Viennese artist collective “Immersive Insiders”, festival visitors were able to discover impressive AR artworks along Bochumer Straße, which will remain in place beyond the Places _ VR Festival 2021. 

Foto: Ole-Kristian Heyer

Augmented Reality also remained a constant companion during the festival beyond the art. For example, it was possible to create one’s own green vision of the future of Bochumer Straße as part of the “imagine green urban futures” project by lala.ruhr, the start-up cityscaper and the E.ON Foundation. But a look into the past was also possible: with SpotAR, visitors* could explore an old Gelsenkirchen tram through their smartphone.

24 hours of no sleep for a VR prototype: That’s what the participants of the Places _ VR Hackathon have been through. In the arcades of the Wissenschaftspark, four teams worked under high pressure to develop a functioning VR prototype on the topic of cyber security. The fact that the Places _ VR Festival also plays an important role internationally in the VR scene became clear here again: Naoufal Dahouli took almost 1500 km from Barcelona to take part in the Places _ Hackathon.
After 24 hours, all the teams had created a functioning VR prototype, and at the prize-giving ceremony later on, the beaming joy of the participants covered many an eye ring.
The Wissenschaftspark remained the centre of innovation: in the underground car park, universities from all over Germany exhibited their latest VR and AR projects as part of the DIVR Science Award, which were judged by a jury of experts. Interested visitors were also able to try out the applications from fields such as medicine, art and education.

But it wasn’t just the applications that were the focus of the Places _ VR Festival: At the well-attended Places _ Stage or at the panels in the livestream from the Places _ Studio, our speakers gave exciting business insights and background information on current topics from the VR scene in lectures and talks. Anyone who listened here is now up to date on XR!

Foto: Ole-Kristian Heyer

We can say that the Places _ VR Festival was a complete success and, as the #1 VR Festival, makes a big contribution to the fact that XR technologies are increasingly being perceived by the general public. In addition to all the virtual worlds, the focus throughout the festival is always on personal exchange. This became clear again on the last evening, where there was time to get to know each other, exchange ideas and network in the best festival atmosphere in the courtyard of the festival centre.

Foto: Ole-Kristian Heyer

Das war das Places _ VR Festival 2021!

Vom 16. bis 18. September präsentierte sich die Bochumer Straße in Gelsenkirchen bereits zum dritten Mal als Zentrum für die deutsche und internationale VR-Szene. Die große Bandbreite der Anwendungen hat dabei gezeigt, dass VR & AR immer mehr Einzug in unser alltägliches Leben halten. An die 6.000 Besucher*innen online und vor Ort erlebten Extended-Reality-Anwendungen aus den unterschiedlichsten Bereichen und spannende Speaker & Online-Shows:

Gleich am ersten Abend des Places _ VR Festivals wurde deutlich, worum es im Bereich der Extended Reality geht: Innovation. Das stellten die Teilnehmer des Places _ Startup Pitch eindrucksvoll unter Beweis und zeigten mit ihren Ideen, dass eine erfolgreiche Umsetzung von XR-Technologien kreativen Unternehmergeist erfordert. Das Bochumer Startup “Digifactura” konnte am Ende die Jury mit einer Anwendung für Museen, die Kunstgegenständen räumlich darstellt, überzeugen. Nach der Preisverleihung blieb auch für die übrigen Startups Zeit zum Austausch und Netzwerken bei bester Festivalstimmung im Hof des Festivalzentrums, das auch in den kommenden Tagen Dreh- und Angelpunkt des Places _ VR Festivals blieb.

Nicht nur der Places _ Startup Pitch hat gezeigt, welch bedeutende Rolle VR und AR in der Kunst spielen. Im “KauVR” konnte sich die immersive Kunst in einem ehemaligen Supermarkt auf mehr als 540qm frei entfalten und die Besucher*innen mit Anwendungen von internationalen Künstler*innen in virtuelle Kunst-Welten abtauchen lassen.
Auch außerhalb des Supermarktes wurde die Bochumer Straße zum Ausstellungsraum: Mit dem “Artificial Museum” des Wiener Künstlerkollektivs “Immersive Insiders” konnten die Festival-Besucher*innen entlang der Bochumer Straße beeindruckende AR-Kunstwerke entdecken, die auch über das Places _ VR Festival 2021 erhalten bleiben werden.

Kunst im ehemaligen Supermarkt. Foto: Ole-Kristian Heyer

Augmented Reality blieb auch über die Kunst hinaus ein steter Begleiter während des Festivals. So war es möglich, im Rahmen des Projekts “imagine green urban futures” von lala.ruhr, dem Startup cityscaper und der E.ON Stiftung seine eigene, grüne Zukunftsvision der Bochumer Straße zu gestalten. Doch auch ein Blick in die Vergangenheit war möglich: Mit SpotAR konnten die Besucher*innen eine alte Gelsenkirchener Straßenbahn durch ihr Smartphone erkunden.

24 Stunden Schlafentzug für einen VR-Prototypen: Das haben die Teilnehmenden des Places _ VR Hackathon hinter sich. In den Arkaden des Wissenschaftsparks arbeiteten vier Teams unter Hochdruck daran, einen funktionierenden VR-Prototypen zum Thema Cyber-Sicherheit zu entwickeln. Dass das Places _ VR Festival auch international in der VR Szene eine wichtige Rolle spielt, wurde hier wieder deutlich: Naoufal Dahouli nahm knapp 1500 km aus Barcelona auf sich, um am Places _ Hackathon teilzunehmen.
Nach 24 Stunden hatten alle Teams einen funktionierenden VR-Prototypen erstellt und bei der späteren Preisverleihung überdeckte die strahlende Freude der Teilnehmenden dabei so manche Augenringe.
Der Wissenschaftspark blieb das Zentrum der Innovationskraft: In der Tiefgarage stellten Hochschulen aus ganz Deutschland im Rahmen des DIVR Science Award ihre neuesten VR- und AR-Projekte aus, die von einer Experten-Jury bewertet wurden. Auch interessierte Besucher*innen konnten die Anwendungen aus Bereichen wie Medizin, Kunst und Bildung ausprobieren.

Volle Konzentration beim 24-Stunden-Hackathon. Foto: Ole-Kristian Heyer
21 Hochschulteams stellten in der Tiefgarage ihre Projekte vor. Foto: Ole-Kristian Heyer

Doch nicht nur die Anwendungen standen beim Places _ VR Festival im Mittelpunkt: Auf der gut besuchten Places _ Stage oder bei den Panels im Livestream aus dem Places _ Studio gaben unsere Speaker bei Vorträgen und Talks spannende Business Insights und Hintergründe zu aktuellen Themen aus der VR-Szene. Wer hier zugehört hat, ist jetzt in Sachen XR auf dem Laufenden!

Foto: Ole-Kristian Heyer

Wir stellen fest: Das Places _ VR Festival war ein voller Erfolg und trägt als #1 VR Festival einen großen Teil dazu bei, dass XR-Technologien in der breiten Öffentlichkeit immer mehr wahrgenommen werden. Dabei steht neben allen virtuellen Welten während des gesamten Festivals auch der persönliche Austausch stets im Mittelpunkt. Das wurde am letzten Abend wieder deutlich, bei dem bei bester Festivalstimmung im Hof des Festival-Zentrums Zeit zum Kennenlernen, Austauschen und Netzwerken blieb.

Foto: Ole-Kristian Heyer