Hackathon

From a task to a VR/AR prototype in just 24 hours – in interdisciplinary teams of designers, coders and experts from many other fields. That is the Places _ Hackathon. We at the Places _ VR Festival believe that the technologies of Extended Reality (VR, AR, MR) are particularly suitable for discussing solutions to particular challenges facing our society, for bringing visions to life and for planning the future. At the Places _ Hackathon, participants have 24 hours to develop and prototype a VR/AR/MR application that will help to master the challenges of our time a little better.

The Places _ Hackathon showcases the full innovative power of Extended Reality!

Procedure

  • Presentation of the challenges, teambuilding & set-up of the workstations.
  • Start of Coding

24 hours of coding

  • End of Coding and subsequent jury tour
  • Presentation at the Festival
  • Centre and award ceremony
  • A cosy evening on the festival grounds

Topic 2021

How can VR, AR & Co make the digital world safer?

How can VR, AR & Co make the digital world more secure?
Whether it’s hacker attacks, espionage or security gaps – problems around the topic of IT and data security occupy corporations and start-ups, municipalities and ministries. During the 24 hours of this year’s Places _ Hackathon, the teams will therefore deal with IT security challenges. How can IT infrastructures be better visualised? How can people be better trained in the safe use of computers and servers? What risks does VR technology itself actually pose?

Our Hackathon Winnerteams 2021

Hackathon Gewinner - bester Prototyp

Hackathon Gewinner - bester Prototyp

RVSecure
RVSecure - or in other words Are We Secure? The solution is VR - We Are! The team's prototype puts you in a typical office workplace full of security and privacy gaps. From the password on the mail IT to scam emails in the inbox to the mobile phone number on the whiteboard, the application simulates the security risks of an office job. The task is to find and eliminate all dangers before leaving the room. The jury praised the great practical relevance and easy adaptability for everyday office life.

Team RVSecure: Bernd Adamczyk, Sebastian Gerhaupt, Alexandra Tamayo, Finn Lichtenberg & Ella Link

Hackathon Winner - Audience Award

Hackathon Winner - Audience Award

Blockchain
In its prototype, the team has attempted to convey the complex topic of "blogchain" in a playful way. Instead of a sober description, you become a part of the decentralised blockchain network. The audience was convinced by the team's pitch and elevated Team Blogchaine to the podium.

Team: Christian Schulz, Neufal Dahouli, Richard Schut, Daniel Brück & Sonja Unger

Hackathon Gewinner - beste Idee

Hackathon Gewinner - beste Idee

GestureID
How can I verify my identity in virtual reality and thus efficiently protect certain closed areas in the virtual world from unauthorised access? For this purpose, the GestureID team transferred the classic gesture decryption known from mobile phones into three-dimensional space and built a 3x3x3 verification grid from the 3x3 grid. The jury was particularly impressed by the smart use of the three-dimensional space for more safety and more comfort at the same time.

Team GestureID: Robin Kalkowski, Mirko Buchholz, Mohamad Albikai & Imad El Khechen

Watch it again now: The Hackathon award ceremony in re-live video

Our theme sponsors 2021

The IT security company with offices in the middle of the Places Festival site is working on smart authentication solutions without a password – among other things for smarter administration.

With forgery-proof certificates based on blockchain, TrustCerts contributes to a more secure digital data exchange.

How do I sensitise my company’s employees to IT security issues? Aware7 has the answer to this question and offers penetration tests and live hacking shows, among other things.

Jury

Farina Hamann

Farina Hamann is an interaction designer and VR artist from Bremen. She works at nextReality.Hamburg e.V., an association that supports and networks companies, start-ups and universities working with VR and AR. As founder of the Bremen XR community BREMERSIV and co-organiser of the Germany-wide VR Meetup Virtual Germany, she continues to drive the networking of the VR scene throughout Germany.

Wolfgang Jung

Wolfgang Jung is co-managing director of the Science Park Gelsenkirchen. The physicist, who studied in Heidelberg, has been managing the company since 2017. Before that, he was deputy managing director of the Science Park and responsible for the “Future Energies” project.

Norbert Pohlmann

Norbert Pohlmann is Professor of Cybersecurity and Head of the Institute for Internet Security – if(is) at the Westphalian University of Applied Sciences in Gelsenkirchen as well as Chairman of the Board of the German IT Security Association – TeleTrusT and on the Board of the Internet Association – eco.

The Places VR _ Hackathon 2021 is supported by:

sparkassege-neu

Sparkasse Gelsenkirchen supports the Hackathon _ 2021 by sponsoring the prize money for the best prototype. (2500€)

ihk-logo-2012-rgb-01

The prize for the best idea is provided by the IHK Nord Westfalen. (1000€)

ceconomy_logo1-1

Ceconomy sponsors the audience award at the Hackathon _ 2021. (500€)

Hackathon

In nur 24 Stunden von einer Aufgabenstellung zu einem VR/AR-Prototypen – und das in interdisziplinären Teams aus Designern, Codern und Experten aus vielen weiteren bereichen. Das ist der Places _ Hackathon. Wir vom Places _ VR Festival glauben, dass sich die Technologien der Extended Reality (VR, AR, MR) besonders eignen, um Lösungen für besondere Herausforderungen unserer Gesellschaft zu diskutieren, Visionen erlebbar zu machen und die Zukunft zu planen. Beim Places _ Hackathon haben die Teilnehmer 24 Stunden Zeit für Entwicklung und Prototyping einer VR/AR/MR-Anwendung, die konkrete Herausforderungen unserer Zeit ein wenig besser meistern zu können.

Beim Places _ Hackathon wird die ganze Innovationskraft von Extended Reality sichtbar!

Ablauf

  • Vorstellung der Challenges, Teambuilding &  SetUp der Workstations
  • Start of Coding

24 Stunden Coding

  • End of Coding und anschließender Jury-Rundgang
  • Präsentation beim Festival
  • Zentrum und Preisverleihung
  • Gemütlicher Ausklang auf dem Festivalgelände

Thema 2021

Wie können VR, AR & Co die digitale Welt sicherer machen?

Egal ob Hacker-Angriffe, Spionage oder Sicherheitslücken – Problemstellungen rund um das Thema IT- und Datensicherheit beschäftigen Konzerne und Startups, Kommunen und Ministerien. In den 24 Stunden des diesjährigen Places _ Hackathons beschäftigen sich die Teams daher mit Challenges aus der IT-Sicherheit. Wie können IT-Infrastrukturen besser visualisiert werden? Wie können Menschen noch besser für den sicheren Umgang mit Computern und Servern geschult werden? Welche Risiken birgt die VR-Technologie möglicherweise selbst?

Unsere Hackathon Gewinnerteams 2021

Hackathon Gewinnerteam - bester Prototyp

Hackathon Gewinnerteam - bester Prototyp

RVSecure
RVSecure - oder anders gesagt Are We Secure? Die Lösung ist VR - We Are! Der Prototyp des Teams versetzt einen an einen typischen Büroarbeitsplatz voller Sicherheits und Datenschutzlücken. Vom Passwort auf dem Post-IT über Scam-Emails in Posteingang bis hin zur Handynummer auf dem Whiteboard simuliert die Anwendung die Sicherheitsrisiken eines Bürojobs. Aufgabe ist es es alle Gefahren zu finden und zu beseitigen bevor man den Raum verlässt. Die Jury hat die große Praxisnähe und leichte Adaptierbarkeit für den Büroalltag gelobt.

Team RVSecure: Bernd Adamczyk, Sebastian Gerhaupt, Alexandra Tamayo, Finn Lichtenberg & Ella Link

Hackathon Gewinnerteam - Publikumspreis

Hackathon Gewinnerteam - Publikumspreis

Blockchain
Das Team hat in seinem Prototyp den Versuch unternommen das komplexe Thema “Blockchain” auf spielerische Weise zu vermitteln. Statt einer nüchternen Beschreibung wird man zu einem Teil des dezentralen Blockchain-Netzwerks. Das Publikum war vom Pitch des Teams überzeugt und hat das Team Blogchaine aufs Podium gehoben.

Team Blockchain: Christian Schulz, Neufal Dahouli, Richard Schut, Daniel Brück & Sonja Unger

Hackathon Gewinnerteam - beste Idee

Hackathon Gewinnerteam - beste Idee

GestureID
Wie kann ich meine Identität in der virtuellen Realität verifizieren und somit bestimmte abgeschlossenen Bereiche in der virtuellen Welt effizient vor unbefugtem Zutritt schützen? Das Team GestureID hat dafür die klassische Gestenentpserrung, wie man sie vom Handy kennt in den dreidimensionalen Raum übertragen und aus dem 3x3-Grid ein 3x3x3 Verifizierungs-Grid gebaut. Die Jury hat hier vor allen Dingen vor allen Dingen die smarte Nutzung den dreidimensionalen Raums für mehr Sicherheit bei gleichzeitig mehr Komfort überzeugt.

Team GestureID: Robin Kalkowski, Mirko Buchholz, Mohamad Albikai & Imad El Khechen

Jetzt noch einmal anschauen: Die Hackathon-Preisverleihung im Re-Live-Video

Unsere Themenpaten 2021

Das IT-Security-Unternehmen mit Büros mitten auf dem Places Festivalgelände arbeitet an smarten Authentifizierungslösungen ohne Passwort – unter anderem für eine smartere Verwaltung.

Mit fälschungssicheren Zertifikaten auf Blockchain-Basis trägt TrustCerts zu einem sichereren digitalen Datenaustausch bei.

Wie sensibilisiere ich die Mitarbeiter meines Unternehmens für IT-Sicherheits-Themen? Auf diese Frage hat Aware7 Antwortet und bietet u.a. Penetrationstest sowie Livehacking-Shows an.

Die Jury

Farina Hamann

Farina Hamann ist Interaktionsdesignerin und VR-Künstlerin aus Bremen.
Sie arbeitet bei nextReality.Hamburg e.V., einem Verein der Unternehmen, Start-Ups und Hochschulen bei der Arbeit mit VR und AR unterstützt und vernetzt. Als Gründerin der Bremer XR-Community BREMERSIV, Co-Organisatorin des deutschlandweiten VR Meetups Virtual Germany treibt sie die Vernetzung der VR Szene in ganz Deutschland weiter an.

Wolfgang Jung

Wolfgang Jung ist Co-Geschäftsführer des Wissenschaftspark Gelsenkirchen. Der in Heidelberg studierte Diplom Physiker leitet das Unternehmen seit 2017. Davor war er als stellvertretender Geschäftsführer des Wissenschaftsparks für das Projekt “Zukunftsenergieen” verantwortlich.

Norbert Pohlmann

Norbert Pohlmann ist Professor für Cybersicherheit und Leiter des Instituts für Internet-Sicherheit – if(is) an der Westfälischen Hochschule in Gelsenkirchen sowie Vorstandsvorsitzender des Bundesverbands IT-Sicherheit – TeleTrusT und im Vorstand des Internetverbandes – eco.

Der Places VR _ Hackathon 2021 wird unterstützt von:

sparkassege-neu

Die Sparkasse Gelsenkirchen unterstützt den Hackathon _ 2021 durch Sponsoring des Preisgeldes in Höhe von 2500€ für den besten Prototypen.

ihk-logo-2012-rgb-01

Der Preis für die beste Idee in Höhe von 1000€ wird zur Verfügung gestellt von der IHK Nord Westfalen.

ceconomy_logo1-1

Ceconomy sponsert bei dem Hackathon _ 2021 den Publikumspreis in Höhe von 500€.