Event highlights of the XR year 2021

After many events did not take place at all or only digitally last year, we are looking forward to conferences, expos and meetings around VR, AR and related technologies again in 2021. We have selected a selection of highlight events for you. We will continue to fill out this list and keep you up to date on the form these events will take.

This article will be updated regularly. Last update 02.02.2021.

Do you have an event that should be listed here? Then send us an email with the date, text & visual to info@places-festival.de.

Laval Virtual – Recto VRso

04 – 16 04 2021 – Laval, France
rectovrso.laval-virtual.com

Recto VRso is an international exhibition of virtual and mixed reality art that will take place as part of Laval Virtual  from 14 to 16 April 2021. Founded by artist and researcher Judith Guez, Recto VRso aims to invite artists, researchers, students and explorers whose art directly or indirectly questions the medium of virtual reality in order to generate new artistic forms. Recto VRso consists of two parts: the Art & VR Gallery at the Laval Museum of Science and the Art Itinerary, an art walk through different historical buildings in Laval.

XR Expo

17 – 21 05 2021 – Stuttgart
xr-expo.com

The XR Expo is already in its fifth year and addresses B2B users from industry, architecture, medicine, trade and crafts in particular. During the 4-day event in Stuttgart, there are special programme sections in the areas of start-up innovation, recruiting and match-making. This year, the XR-Expo team is planning a full week’s presence. It remains to be seen whether an on-site version will be possible in May due to the Corona pandemic. Info will follow.

VRHAM! Virtual Reality & Arts Festival

04  – 13 06 2021 – Hamburg
vrham.de

Launched in 2018 and this year for the fourth time, the Virtual Reality & Arts Festival VRHAM! will take place from 04.06. – 13.06.2021. The event takes place in Hamburg’s Oberhafen and focuses in particular on XR as an artistic medium. Last year, the international festival took place digitally only. In 2021, the team around artistic director Ulrich Schrauth is aiming for a hybrid event. 

Laval Virtual – Pro Days

07 – 09 07 2021 – Laval, France
laval-virtual.com

The Laval Virtual is actually known to everyone in the VR scene. Since 1999, the creators have been attracting people to the small French town of Laval, which with its 50,000 inhabitants offers a tranquil antipole to the high-tech industry. Over the years, the events have been supported and initiated locally and in other international cities. The Machen have been working in international cooperations for a long time. For example, the VR Days Europe in Amsterdam have been co-hosted by Laval Virtual since 2019. The Pro Days in Laval combine exhibition, conference and award ceremony in their programme. Last year – right at the start of the first lockdown in March – the Pro Days developed a completely virtual environment with its community in which the speaker programme, exhibition and networking took place.

Places _ VR Festival

16  – 18 09 2021 – Gelsenkirchen

This year, we ourselves will start in September and also want the third edition of the Places _ VR Festival to take place as a face-to-face event with digital elements. The offer is aimed at XR-interested people of all levels of experience, from curious beginners who want to get to know the technology, to start-up founders who can present their idea to investors and target groups, to XR companies and experts who want to present their application and concepts to a broad audience. With a wide-ranging speaker programme, workshops, a hackathon and the DIVR Science Award, there will be many opportunities to discover and shape the world of XR and to network in the scene.

Event-Highlights des XR-Jahres 2021

Nachdem im vergangenen Jahr viele Events gar nicht oder nur digital stattgefunden haben, freuen auch wir uns in 2021 wieder auf Konferenzen, Expos und Meetings rund um VR, AR und verwandte Technologien. Wir haben eine Auswahl von Highlight-Veranstaltungen für euch ausgesucht. Wir werden diese Liste weiter füllen und euch auch auf dem Laufenden halten, in welcher Form diese Events stattfinden werden.

Dieser Artikel wird laufend aktualisiert. Letzte Aktualisierung 02.02.2021.

Ihr habt auch ein Event, das hier aufgeführt werden soll? Dann schickt uns eine Mail mit Datum, Text & Visual an info@places-festival.de.

Laval Virtual – Recto VRso

04. – 16.04.2021 – Laval, Frankreich
rectovrso.laval-virtual.com

Recto VRso ist eine internationale Ausstellung von Kunst in virtueller und gemischter Realität, die im Rahmen des Laval Virtual vom 14. bis 16. April 2021 stattfindet. Gegründet von der Künstlerin und Forscherin Judith Guez, zielt Recto VRso darauf ab, Künstler:innen, Forschende, Studierende und Entdecker:innen einzuladen, die mit ihrer Kunst das Medium der virtuellen Realität direkt oder indirekt in Frage stellen, um so neue künstlerische Formen hervorzubringen. Recto VRso besteht aus zwei Teilen: der Art & VR Gallery im Laval Museum of Science und dem Art Itinerary – einem Kunstspaziergang durch verschiedene historische Gebäude in der Ortschaft Laval.

XR Expo

17. – 21.05.2021 – Stuttgart
xr-expo.com

Bereits im fünften Jahr findet die XR Expo statt, die als Zielgruppe insbesondere B2B-Anwender:innen aus Industrie, Architektur, Medizin, Handel, Handwerk anspricht. Während des 4-tägigen Events in Stuttgart gibt es spezielle Programmteile in den Bereichen StartUp-Innovation, Recruiting und Match-Making. In diesem Jahr plant das XR-Expo-Team eine volle Woche Präsenz. Ob aufgrund der Corona-Pandemie eine Vor-Ort-Variante im Mai möglich ist, bleibt abzuwarten. Infos folgen.

VRHAM! Virtual Reality & Arts Festival

04. – 13.06.2021 – Hamburg
vrham.de

Im Jahr 2018 gestartet und in diesem Jahr zum vierten Mal, findet vom 04.06. – 13.06.2021 das Virtual Reality & Arts Festival VRHAM! statt. Das Event findet im Hamburger Oberhafen statt und konzentriert sich insbesondere auf XR als künstlerisches Medium. Im letzten Jahr fand das international aufgestellte Festival nur digital statt. In 2021 strebt das Team um den künstlerischen Leiter Ulrich Schrauth eine hybride Veranstaltung an.

Laval Virtual – Pro Days

07. – 09.07.2021 – Laval, Frankreich
laval-virtual.com

Das Laval Virtual ist eigentlich jedem in der VR-Szene ein Begriff. Seit 1999 locken die Macher:innen in den kleinen französischen Ort Laval, der mit seinen knapp 50.000 Einwohner:innen einen beschaulichen Gegenpol zur Hightech-Branche bietet. In all den Jahren wurden die Events vor Ort und anderen internationalen Städten unterstützt und initiiert. Dabei arbeiten die Machen schon lange in internationalen Kooperationen. So werden die VR Days Europe in Amsterdam z.B. seit 2019 von Laval Virtual co-gehosted. Die Pro Days in Laval vereinen in ihrem Programm Ausstellung, Konferenz und Award-Verleihung. Im vergangenen Jahr – direkt zum Start des ersten Lockdowns im März – entwickelten die Pro Days mit ihrer Community eine komplett virtuelle Umgebung in der Speakerprogramm, Ausstellung und Networking stattfanden.

Places _ VR Festival

16. – 18.09.2021 – Gelsenkirchen

Wir selbst gehen in diesem Jahr im September an den Start und wollen auch die dritte Ausgabe des Places _ VR Festival als Präsenzveranstaltung mit digitalen Elementen stattfinden lassen. Das Angebot richtet sich an XR-Interessierte aller Erfahrungsstufen vom neugierigen Einsteiger, der die Technologie kennen lernen möchte, über Startup-Gründerinnen, die ihre Idee Investoren und Zielgruppen präsentieren können, bis hin zu XR-Unternehmen und Expert:innen, die ihre Anwendung und ihre Konzepte einer breiten Masse vorstellen wollen. Mit einem breitgefächerten Speakerprogramm, Workshops, einem Hackathon und dem DIVR Science Award bieten sich vielfältige Möglichkeiten, die Welt der XR zu entdecken, zu gestalten und sich in der Szene zu vernetzen.