urbanana-
AReal

For the Places _ VR Festival, the urbanana-Areal was created in the Bochumer Straße quarter with five augmented reality artworks, which took up existing street art works (graffiti, murals, picture panels, etc.) in the quarter and expanded them by a new form of art. For at least one year, the AR-Artwalk will be accessible to visitors who will be able to bring the real works to life virtually via a smartphone app. Suddenly, artistic 3D animations, videos or images will complement and superimpose reality.

urbanana is an invitation to experience urban spaces in a different way. The project of Tourismus NRW e.V. brings together creative people and discoverers* and, together with urbanana-AReal, creates a city tour that expands reality even under conditions of social distance.

Visit the urbanana AReal yourself and bring works of art to life!

Download the Artivive App for this.

appelstore
googleplaystore

The five Augmented Reality artworks were opened during the Places _ VR Festival and marked as Art Walk. After the Places _ VR Festival, the artworks can still be experienced by the public.

To view the AR artwork you simply have to download the app “Artivive” from the playstore or the appstore and scan the corresponding artwork with the app. After a short loading time the artwork comes to life.

The artists

Mayuko Kudo

Mayuko Kudo, born in 1988 in Oita (Japan), works on the theme of the relationship between virtual space and real space, using mediums such as AR, VR, 3DCG, and 3D scanners, and how they intervene. Diplom of fine art in University of the Arts Bremen, and since 2018 studies exMedia in postgraduate course at the Academy of Media Arts in Cologne.

DA IST NICHT HIER
The artwork is part of the installation “As everything near becomes distant, everything distant becomes near (and back again)” by Rick van de Dood, which was created in the context of the Rietveld Academy Residency in 2015. The installation is to be understood as an invitation to travel the distance between two places.

Jæn

Jæn is a French artist creating all sorts of visuals, from 3D printed street art to surreal paintings, to colorful illustrations, branding and virtual paintings. Usually dealing with a dreamy, sometimes psychedelic vibe, his commercial clients include Disney, Diesel, PayPal and Google For Startups, and group shows at Pictoplasma and Urban Spree in Berlin.

Toy
The mural by the artist Janine Kneip was created as part of the POTT-WALL JAM 2018. It shows a scene from the animated film “Tehran Taboo” by Ali Soozandeh from the year 2017. The film about freedom, sex and self-fulfilment in the Islamic God-state Iran, has received several awards.

Tamlyn Youung

Tamlyn Youung is an illustrator and visual artist from South Africa. She is particularly interested in urban spaces: the stories they contain and the way they influence human interaction. Most of her works are inspired by everyday encounters in the city. She currently lives in Limerick, Ireland. During the day she works as a tutor at the Limerick School of Art and Design, and at night she focuses on her personal illustration projects.

Justice – Just Nice
The work Justice – Just Nice, by Beni Veltum was sprayed in 2019 as graffiti using the 3-layer stencil technique. The Justizia surrounded by pink combines justice and love.

Maksim Finogeev

Maksim Finogeev (Odesa, Ukraine) is a visual artist who often uses photography in different combinations with video, installation, object or performance. In his works, he addresses the theme of how art functions outside the wall of cultural institutions. The author believes it is important to promote the diversity of art in an urban environment, as it reflects the state of relations in society.

Reklameschild “Wolf”
The Wolf butcher’s shop’s advertising sign showing a stylised salami is one of the last traditional retail shops on Bochumer Strasse. In 2018 the shop was closed for reasons of age. For a long time a sign with the inscription “Wurst ist alle!” hung in the shop window.

Joe Crystal

Joe Crystal is a multidisciplinary artist, that works from pixels to paint based in New York City. With projects ranging from large-scale interactive murals to graphic design and animation, he attempts to bridge the gap between the ever-expanding digital world and traditional analog roots. Current themes of his work are concerned with internet culture and the way social media shape our identity.

Together
The large-scale mural “Together” by Cosima Eggert, Jan Schoch, Oliver Rösler / Olli Rose shows Ückendorf’s past, present and future – depicted in a bird fable in which the most diverse colourful and grey birds live together.

Here you can watch the presentation about the project urbanana AReal by Jan Paul Laarman, project manager urbanana / Tourismus NRW ev:

Jury

jury-christianewanken

Christiane Wanken

Christiane Wanken is head of the collection at the Kunstmuseum Gelsenkirchen. After working in Cologne and Berlin, she now lives and works in the Ruhr area. At the Kunstmuseum Gelsenkirchen, she is currently working intensively on the possibilities of the digital mediation of art. Otherwise, her work focuses on modern and contemporary art.

speaker-paul-laarmann

Jan-Paul Laarmann

For Tourismus NRW e.V., Jan-Paul Laarmann drives cultural and urban tourism projects forward, currently as overall project manager of FLOW.NRW. After his first state examination (social sciences and German studies), he was drawn to the Ruhrtriennale and the Berlin start-up world.

jury-romanpilgrim

Roman Pilgrim
Roman Pilgrim is a freelance artist and creator of the Places VR _ Festival, the first freely accessible VR festival in Germany. As founder and 1st chairman of the Insane Urban Cowboys e.V. he has built up a network around him that attracts attention nationwide. For his activities the association was awarded this year as Creative Space by Creative.NRW.

The urbanana AReal is being developed within the framework of FLOW.NRW
a project of Tourismus NRW e.V. in partnership with Düsseldorf Tourismus GmbH, KölnTourismus GmbH and Ruhr Tourismus GmbH, funded by the Ministry of Economics and the Ministry of Economics, Innovation, Digitalisation and Energy of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia

programmpartner-urbanana-logo

as part of the Places _ VR Festival

powered by Artivive

Do you have questions about urbanana-AReal?

Contact Roman now, he is your contact person for urbanana-AReal and answers all your questions.

urbanana-
AReal

Zum Places _ VR Festival entstand im Quartier Bochumer Straße das urbanana-AReal mit fünf Augmented-Reality-Kunstwerken, die bereits existierende Street-Art-Werke (Graffiti, Murals, Bildtafeln u. Ä.) im Quartier aufgegriffen haben und um eine neue Form der Kunst erweitert haben. Mindestens ein Jahr lang wird der AR-Artwalk für Besucher zugänglich sein, die mittels Smartphone-App die realen Werke virtuell zum Leben erwecken können. Plötzlich ergänzen und überlagern so kunstvolle 3D-Animationen, Videos oder Bilder die Realität.

urbanana ist ein eine Einladung Stadträume anders zu erleben. Das Projekt von Tourismus NRW e.V. bringt Kreative und Entdecker*innen zusammen und entwirft mit urbanana-AReal einen Stadtrundgang, der auch unter den Bedingungen sozialer Distanz realitätserweiternd wirkt.

Besuche selbst das urbanana AReal und erwecke Kunstwerke zum leben!

Lade dir dazu die Artivive App runter.

appelstore
googleplaystore

Die fünf Augmented-Reality-Kunstwerke wurden im Rahmen des Places _ VR Festivals eröffnet und als Art Walk gekennzeichnet. Nach dem Places _ VR Festival sind die Kunstwerke weiterhin für die Öffentlichkeit erlebbar.

Um die AR-Kunstwerke zu sehen musst du dir einfach die App „Artivive“ aus dem Playstore oder dem Appstore herunterladen und das entsprechende Kunstwerk mit der App scannen. Nach einer kurzen Ladezeit erwacht das Kunstwerk zum Leben.

Die Künstler*innen

Mayuko Kudo

Mayuko Kudo, geboren 1988 in Oita (Japan), arbeitet zum Thema der Beziehung zwischen virtuellem Raum und realem Raum, wobei sie Medien wie AR-, VR-, 3DCG- und 3D-Scanner verwendet und wie diese intervenieren. Diplom in Bildender Kunst an der Hochschule für Künste Bremen und seit 2018 studiert sie im Aufbaustudiengang exMedia an der Kunsthochschule für Medien in Köln.

DA IST NICHT HIER
Das Kunstwerk ist Teil der Installation „As everything near becomes distant, everything distant becomes near (and back again)“ von Rick van de Dood, das im Rahmen der Rietveld Academy Residency im Jahr 2015 entstanden ist. Die Installation ist als Einladung zu verstehen die Strecke zwischen zwei Orten zu bereisen.

Jæn

Jæn ist ein französischer Künstler, der alle Arten von Bildmaterial erstellt, von gedruckter 3D-Straßenkunst über surreale Gemälde bis hin zu farbenfrohen Illustrationen, Branding und virtuellen Gemälden. Zu seinen kommerziellen Kunden gehören Disney, Diesel, PayPal und Google For Startups sowie Gruppenausstellungen bei Pictoplasma und Urban Spree in Berlin, die in der Regel mit einer verträumten, manchmal psychedelischen Stimmung einhergehen.

Toy
Das Mural der Künstlerin Janine Kneip entstand im Rahmen des POTT-WALL JAM 2018.  Es zeigt eine Szene aus dem Animationsfilm „Teheran Tabu“ von Ali Soozandeh aus dem Jahr 2017. Der Film über Freiheit, Sex und Selbstverwirklichung im islamischen Gottesstaat Iran, ist mehrfach ausgezeichnet worden.

Tamlyn Youung

Tamlyn Youung ist Illustratorin und bildender Künstlerin aus Südafrika. Sie interessiert sich vor allen Dingen für städtische Räume: Die Geschichten, die sie enthalten, und die Art und Weise, wie sie die menschliche Interaktion beeinflussen. Die meisten ihrer Arbeiten sind von alltäglichen Begegnungen in der Stadt inspiriert. Zurzeit lebt sie in Limerick, Irland. Tagsüber arbeitet sie als Tutorin an der Limerick School of Art and Design, und nachts konzentriert sie sich auf ihre persönlichen Illustrationsprojekte.

Justice – Just Nice
Das Werk Justice – Just Nice, von Beni Veltum ist 2019 als Grafitti mittels 3-Layer-Stencil-Technik gesprayt worden. Die von Rosarot umgebene Justizia verbindet Gerechtigkeit und Liebe.

Maksim Finogeev

Maksim Finogeev (Odesa, Ukraine) ist ein bildender Künstler, der Fotografie oft in verschiedenen Kombinationen mit Video, Installation, Objekt oder Performance verwendet. In seinen Werken thematisiert er, wie Kunst außerhalb der Mauern von Kulturinstitutionen funktioniert. Der Autor hält es für elementar wichtig, die Vielfalt der Kunst in einem städtischen Umfeld zu fördern, da sie den Zustand der Beziehungen in der Gesellschaft widerspiegelt.

Reklameschild “Wolf”
Das Reklameschild der Metzgerei Wolf, das eine stilisierte Salami zeigt, gehört zu einem der letzten traditionellen Einzelhandelsgeschäfte an der Bochumer Straße. 2018 wurde der Betrieb aus Altersgründen geschlossen. Lange hing ein Schild mit der Aufschrift „Wurst ist alle!“ im Schaufenster.

Joe Crystal

Joe Crystal ist ein multidisziplinärer Künstler aus New York City, der sowohl mit Pixeln als auch Pigmenten arbeitet. Mit Projekten, die von großformatigen interaktiven Wandmalereien bis hin zu Grafikdesign und Animation reichen, versucht er die Kluft zwischen der sich ständig erweiternden digitalen Welt und den traditionellen analogen Wurzeln zu überbrücken. Aktuelle Themen seiner Arbeit befassen sich mit der Internetkultur und der Art und Weise, wie soziale Medien unsere Identität prägen.

Together
Das großflächige Mural „Together“ von Cosima, Jan und Olli (Nachnamen kommen noch) zeigt Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft Ückendorfs – dargestellt in einer Vogelfabel in der die verschiedensten bunten und grauen Vögel zusammenleben.

Hier könnt ihr die Vortrag über das Projekt urbanana AReal von Jan Paul Laarman, Projektleiter urbanana / Tourismus NRW ev. noch einmal anschauen:

Jurymitglieder

jury-christianewanken

Christiane Wanken

Christiane Wanken ist Sammlungsleiterin am Kunstmuseum Gelsenkirchen. Nach Stationen in Köln und Berlin lebt und arbeitet sie nun im Ruhrgebiet. Am Kunstmuseum Gelsenkirchen setzt sie sich gerade intensiv mit den Möglichkeiten der digitalen Vermittlung von Kunst auseinander. Ansonsten liegt ihr Arbeitsschwerpunkt bei moderner und zeitgenössischer Kunst.

speaker-paul-laarmann

Jan-Paul Laarmann

Für Tourismus NRW e.V. treibt Jan-Paul Laarmann kultur- und städtetouristische Projekte voran, zurzeit als Gesamtprojektleiter von FLOW.NRW. Zuvor verschlugen ihn nach dem ersten Staatsexamen (Sozialwissenschaften und Germanistik) berufliche Ausflüge zur Ruhrtriennale und in die Berliner Start-Up-Welt.

jury-romanpilgrim

Roman Pilgrim

Roman Pilgrim ist freischaffender Künstler und Macher des Places _ VR Festivals, des ersten frei zugänglichen VR Festivals Deutschlands. Als Gründer und 1. Vorsitzender des Insane Urban Cowboys e.V. hat er ein Netzwerk um sich aufgebaut, das landesweit für Aufmerksamkeit sorgt. Für seine Tätigkeiten wurde der Verein in diesem Jahr als Creative Space von Creative.NRW ausgezeichnet.

Das urbanana-AReal entsteht im Rahmen von FLOW.NRW
einem Projekt von Tourismus NRW e.V. in Partnerschaft mit Düsseldorf Tourismus GmbH, KölnTourismus GmbH und Ruhr Tourismus GmbH gefördert durch das Ministerium für Wirtschaft und Ministeriums für Wirtschaft, Innovation, Digitalisierung und Energie des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen

programmpartner-urbanana-logo

im Rahmen des Places _ VR Festivals

powered by Artivive

Hast du Fragen zu urbanana AReal?

Meld dich jetzt bei Roman, er ist dein Ansprechpartner zum urbanana AReal und beantwortet dir alle Fragen.