DIVR
Science Award

Apple, Google or Amazon – the story of these three tech companies began in a garage. So that’s where the ideas that can change the world are born. That’s why there were real innovations to be discovered at the Places _ VR Festival in the underground car park of the science park.

Especially in research and universities, the potential of these technologies is developing rapidly in terms of extended reality. This is where the pulse of the times beats when it comes to XR. For the presentation of the DIVR Science Award, the German Institute for Virtual Reality (DIVR) in cooperation and the Places _ VR Festival are annually looking for the most innovative applications and concepts of German universities.

20 teams from all over Germany were nominated for the DIVR Science Award. Of these, 14 universities made their way to Gelsenkirchen and presented their ideas and projects during the festival days in the underground car park of the Science Park. The award ceremony took place on the Saturday of the festival in the Places _ Studio with Markus Rall (DIVR). Rall, who himself is the founder of a VR company and chairman of the DIVR, is pleased to make scientific achievements in the field of AR and VR visible with the award and to be able to honour them.

Award Winner 2020

University Potsdam

University Potsdam

The prize in the category Best Tech goes to the VR Paint Shop ("VR Lackierwerkstatt") of the Chair for Complex Multimedia Application Architectures at the University of Potsdam. With the HandLeVR project, the team is investigating the use and technical design of a virtual reality paint shop as a training tool in professional vehicle painting training. The jury is convinced and praises the open source approach of the developers from Potsdam, who work in close cooperation with many partners from practice.

University of Applied Sciences  Kiel

University of Applied Sciences Kiel

The project with the greatest potential for social impact is awarded in the category Best Impact. The prize goes to Tim Waldron, student at the FH Kiel. He wins with his project VR Eye Tracking in Parkinson Research. The jury around Markus Rall agrees: “The impact of the prototype on society can be enormous. The VR application and the Virtual Reality Eye Tracking should help to analyze eye movement, which is used in neurogeriatric Parkinson research.

Hochschule Neu-Ulm

Hochschule Neu-Ulm

This category honors the most creative approach and use of extended reality. The team from the University of Applied Sciences Neu-Ulm around Barbara Dannenmann convinced the jury with a virtual negotiation training and the combination of AI and VR. The application “Virtual Negotiation Training – Beat the Bot” is about a negotiation training element for blended learning. The aim of the application is to experience a negotiation situation in the form of a pitch and to learn the optimal negotiation style in a highly competitive sales negotiation for capital goods.

Impressions

Watch the whole award show again

Shortlist

Nominated for the category “best concept”

VR Experience

Berlin University of Applied Sciences

Making the convergence and divergence of virtual and “real” reality tangible.

Virtuelles Verhandlungstraining -Beat the Bot

Neu-Ulm University of Applied Sciences
Economics
Competence center for growth and sales strategies

Negotiation training element for blended learnings.

KurationsSimulator

Kassel University
Art Studies

Realize exhibitions via Virtual Reality interactively and immersively.

Ether Sense Mixed Reality

Bielefeld University of Applied Sciences
department of design

Concept for a mixed reality app including glasses and haptic gloves for 3D modeling.

Heb@AR: Augmented Reality Training für Hebammen

University of Applied Sciences Emden/Leer

Preparation and follow-up of practical training in midwifery education.

Nominated for the category “best impact”

Virtual Energy Hero

ZHAW School of Engineering

VR-experience of sustainability issues.

ANTARES

University Siegen
Faculty of Life Sciences
Chair of Medical Informatics and Microsystems Design

Supportive therapy for substance addiction disorders.

Change by VR

Julius-Maximilians-University of Würzburg
Faculty of Human Sciences and Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science

Understand VR as a new and innovative intervention and thus reduce the attitude-behavior gap.

Beyond Exhibition

Mainz University of Applied Sciences
Department of

Cross-platform VR exhibition for simultaneous interaction and communication.

Visualisierung und Erkundung postindustrieller Ruhrgebiets-Standorte

Ruhr University Bochum
Faculty of Earth Sciences

Interactive VR-supported 3D environments in urban and landscape planning to support decision-making processes.

aVRika

Westphalian University of Applied Sciences Gelsenkirchen,
Department of Computer Science and Communication

Making the current problems around the educational situation in Africa visible.

Virtual Reality Eye Tracking in der Parkinsonforschung

Kiel University of Applied Sciences,
Media and building industry

Analysis of eye movement for neurogeriatric Parkinson research.

Nominated for the category “best tech”

Visual Cues

Westfälische Hochschule
University of Applied Sciences
Department of Computer Science and Communication

Support of human visual perception when controlling a robotic arm through augmented reality.

VR-Lackierwerkstatt

University of Potsdam
Chair for Complex Multimedia Application Architectures

VR paint shop as a training tool in the professional vehicle painting training.

Augmented Reality Content Management System

Ruhr University Bochum
Mechanical Engineering, Digital Engineering

Create, maintain and carry out AR instructions for experiments in a university teaching environment without prior knowledge.

Plenoxis & ALL-Chemie

University of Merseburg
Department of Engineering and Natural Sciences

Initiation of a playful, sustainable and entertaining learning process.

Madrague de Giens

Mainz University
Department of Design

Virtual dive to a wreck excavation.

Pingunauten Trainer

University Duisburg-Essen

Preparing children playfully for an examination in the MRT.

Jury

divr-jury-susanneahmadseresht

Susanne Ahmadseresht

@VRHamburg

Susanne Ahmadseresht works as a project developer at the VR production company VRTUAL X and is deputy chairwoman of NextReality Hamburg e.V. an association for strengthening Hamburg as an innovative location for future topics.

divr-jury-raheldemant

Rahel Demant

@RahelDemant

Rahel Demant is co-founder and COO of VR First, a global program that provides state-of-the-art facilities for creative professionals and educators interested in exploring the power and potential of virtual reality development. In 2019 was also one of the founders of the XR Bootcamp in Berlin.

divr-jury-timmittelstaedt

Tim Mittelstaedt

@timmittelstaedt

Tim Mittelstaedt is the founder of timmersive with headquarters in Hannover and Berlin. In addition to his work as a lecturer for Virtual Reality Marketing, he drives projects of the VR scene in Lower Saxony as coordinator for digitization at the region of Hanover and co-organizer of the HANNOVR conference.

divr-jury-lukasbest

Lukas Best

Lukas Best is managing partner of Streamdust.tv UG. After initial career steps in classical television, he founded the livestreaming platform, which specializes in the monetization via pay-per-view of livestreams and video content. Since the beginning of 2019, he has been managing director of EDFVR (First German Virtual Reality Association).

divr-jury-markusrall

Markus Rall

@MarkusRall

Markus Rall founded the VR company viality in Dortmund in 2008, with which he offers VR solutions for companies ranging from medium-sized businesses to DAX corporations. He is also chairman of the DIVR.

FAQ

Who can join in?

Individuals or teams from a university environment (university, FH, private university) can apply. This could be, for example, a VR laboratory belonging to a university chair, a learning group of students or a start-up that is currently preparing its spin-off from a university. The decisive factor here is the claim to scientifically deal with the topic of extended reality. It is not a requirement that all team members are enrolled at a university.

Which projects can be submitted?

Of interest are all projects dealing with VR, AR, XR, MR or mixed forms. A prerequisite is that the application or hardware is headset-based or can be played on a headset. Market-ready products are allowed as well as experimental prototypes. The latter are expressly desired, but it is important that they can be tested by third parties as a “proof of concept”.
A high degree of immersion and/or interaction is desired. Pure 360° videos without interaction possibilities are excluded from the competition.

What do I do if I am unsure whether my project meets all the necessary requirements?

Basically: an application always makes sense! Even if you have doubts whether the project meets all the requirements. Should the jury not nominate the project for the shortlist, we will find an attractive presentation opportunity for you at the Places _ Festival.

Can I submit a project a second time, even if I already participated in last year's competition?

It is of course possible to participate again with the same or extended or revised project. We are looking forward to having you with us again!

How do the nomination and evaluation of projects proceed?

First, all applications are checked for completeness. At the end of the application period (May 4th) the nomination jury (experts of the DIVR and Places _ VR Festival) will create a shortlist of the best entries. The best competition entries (shortlist) will have the opportunity to present their applications to the expert jury and a large audience at the Places _ Virtual Reality Festival (Fri, 21. & Sat, 22.08.2020). For this purpose, the teams will be provided with an exhibition space in the Science Park Gelsenkirchen free of charge (incl. electricity and internet). The teams organise the technology, travel to and from the exhibition, assembly and dismantling as well as personnel independently. All competition entries must be accessible and testable for the expert jury on Fri 21.08.2020, only then do the projects have a chance to be awarded.

In which categories are prizes awarded?
  • best concept
    Awards are given for the most innovative approach, the most creative use of extended reality or the most exciting experiment in the competition. The evaluation focuses on the best mental performance.
  •  best impact
    The prize is awarded to the project with the greatest potential to initiate or accelerate social change. Which project has the greatest social, economic, ecological or scientific relevance? Prototypes must already make this potential comprehensible.
  • best tech
    The award is given to the application or product that stands out due to a convincing implementation. The jury is looking for something special in the implementation, conceivable are: very good technical quality, high degree of technological innovation, unique aesthetics, resource-saving execution and much more.
  • Special prize “Gamechanger”
    The special prize is awarded to projects that the jury believes have the potential to bring about fundamental changes in a specific segment. The special prize will only be awarded if there are outstanding competition entries.

The public award ceremony will take place at the end of the Places _ VR Festival on Saturday evening, 22.08.2020 in a dignified setting.
The applicants* do not determine for which category they apply. An application is automatically valid for all prizes mentioned here.

Why participate, what is there to win?

The winners in the four categories best concept, best impact, best tech and special prize “Gamechanger” will be awarded with a trophy designed by an artist especially for the DIVR Science Award. No prize money will be distributed. The winning teams will receive further non-cash prizes sponsored by the Volksbank Ruhr-Mitte.
By participating in the DIVR Science Award you will also have the opportunity to exchange and network with other universities, experts and entrepreneurs. We also offer you and your project a free presentation opportunity.

What happens if the DIVR Science Award on August 21 and 22 cannot be held as a face-to-face event in Gelsenkirchen as planned due to corona measures?

Despite the current restrictions due to the corona pandemic, the prize will definitely be awarded this year. The best research projects will receive the coveted DIVR Science Award on August 21 and 22 at the Places _ Virtual Reality Festival. This will also take place in an appropriate form in any case.

“A perfect reality check for my prototype!”

How Eike Langbehn went from award winner to start-up founder

In 2019 Dr. Eike Langbehn won the DIVR Science Award in the category “best concept” with his “SpaceWalk” demo. This year he his startup “Curvature Games” is nominated for the StartUp-Pitch at the Places _ VR Festival. We talked to him and asked him how he experienced the DIVR Science Award and what happened afterwards.

DIVR

The DIVR is a non-profit association operating on a national level, which deals with the chances and risks of XR technologies (Virtual Reality, Augmented Reality, mixed forms). It initiates forums and relies on these impulses to ensure the responsible implementation of XR-Tech in the German economy and society. In addition, it acts as a curator of knowledge about the subject area and makes it available.

The Volksbank Ruhr-Mitte supports the DIVR Science Award with material prizes in all categories

volksbank-1
Do you have questions about the DIVR Science Award?

Contact Roman now, he is your contact person for the DIVR Science and answers all your questions.

DIVR
Science Award

Apple, Google oder Amazon – die Geschichte dieser drei Tech-Unternehmen begann in einer Garage. Dort entstehen also die Ideen, die die Welt verändern können. Darum gab es auch beim Places _ VR Festival echte Innovationen in der Tiefgarage des Wissenschaftsparks zu entdecken.

Gerade in der Forschung und an Hochschulen entwickelt sich in Sachen Extended Reality das Potential dieser Technologien rasend schnell. Hier schlägt der Puls der Zeit in Sachen XR. Für die Verleihung des DIVR Science Award sind das Deutsche Institut für Virtual Reality (DIVR) in Kooperation und das Places _ VR Festival alljährlich auf der Suche nach den innovativsten Anwendungen und Konzepten deutscher Hochschulen.

20 Teams aus ganz Deutschland waren für den DIVR Science Award nominiert. Davon haben 14 Hochschulen den Weg nach Gelsenkirchen angetreten und hier ihre Ideen und Projekte an den Festivaltagen in der Tiefgarage des Wissenschaftsparks präsentiert. Die Preisverleihung fand am Festival-Samstag im Places _ Studio mit Markus Rall (DIVR) statt. Rall, der selbst Gründer eines VR-Unternehmens und Vorsitzender des DIVR ist, freut sich mit dem Award wissenschaftliche Leistungen im Bereich AR und VR sichtbar zu machen und auszeichnen zu können.

Preisträger 2020

Universität Potsdam

Universität Potsdam

Der Preis in der Kategorie Best Tech geht an die VR Lackierwerkstatt des Lehrstuhls für Komplexe Multimediale Anwendungsarchitekturen der Universität Potsdam. Das Team untersucht mit dem Projekt HandLeVR den Einsatz und die technische Gestaltung einer Virtual Reality-Lackierwerkstatt als Trainingsinstrument in der beruflichen Fahrzeuglackierausbildung. Die Jury ist überzeugt und lobt den Open Source-Ansatz der Entwickler aus Potsdam, die eng vernetzt mit vielen Partnern aus der Praxis arbeiten.

Fachhochschule Kiel

Fachhochschule Kiel

Das Projekt mit dem größten Potential für gesellschaftlichen Einfluss wird in der Kategorie Best Impact ausgezeichnet. Der Preis geht an Tim Waldron, Student an der FH Kiel. Er gewinnt mit seinem Projekt VR Eye Tracking in der Parkinsonforschung. Die Jury um Markus Rall ist sich einig: “Die Auswirkung des Prototyps auf die Gesellschaft kann gewaltig sein.” Die VR-Anwendung und das Virtual Reality Eye Tracking sollen bei der Analyse der Augenbewegung helfen, die in der neurogeriatrischen Parkinson-Recherche zum Einsatz kommt.

Hochschule Neu-Ulm

Hochschule Neu-Ulm

In dieser Kategorie wird der kreativste Ansatz und Einsatz von Extended Reality ausgezeichnet. Das Team von der Hochschule Neu-Ulm um Barbara Dannenmann hat die Jury mit einem virtuellen Verhandlungstraining und der Kombination von KI und VR überzeugt. In der Anwendung “Virtuelles Verhandlungstraining – Beat the Bot” geht es um ein Verhandlungstrainingselement für Blended Learnings. Ziel der Anwendung ist es eine Verhandlungssituation in Form eines Pitches zu durchleben und dabei den optimalen Verhandlungsstil in einer hochkompetitiven Verkaufsverhandlung für Investitionsgüter zu erlernen.

Impressionen

Die gesamte Awardshow im Re-live

Shortlist

Nominiert für die Kategorie “best concept”

VR Experience

Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft Berlin

Erfahrbarmachung der Konvergenz und Divergenz von virtueller und “echter” Realität.

Virtuelles Verhandlungstraining -Beat the Bot

Hochschule Neu-Ulm
Wirtschaftswissenschaften
Kompetenzzentrum für Wachstums- und Vertriebsstrategien

Virtuelle Verhandlungstrainings für Blended Learnings.

KurationsSimulator

Universität Kassel
Kunstwissenschaft

Ausstellungen via Virtual Reality interaktiv und immersiv realisieren.

Ether Sense Mixed Reality

Fachhochschule Bielefeld
Fachbereich Gestaltung

Konzept für eine Mixed-Reality-App inklusive Brille und Haptikhandschuh für das 3D Modelling.

Heb@AR: Augmented Reality Training für Hebammen

Hochschule Emden/Leer

Vor – und Nachbereitung von praktischen Trainings in der Hebammenausbildung.

Nominiert für die Kategorie “best impact”

Virtual Energy Hero

ZHAW School of Engineering

Nachhaltigkeitsthemen immersiv erleben und verstehen.

ANTARES

Universität Siegen
Lebenswissenschaftliche Fakultät
Professur medizinische Informatik und Mikrosystementwurf

Unterstützende Therapie bei Substanzabhängigkeitserkrankungen.

Change by VR

Julius-Maximilians-Universität Würzburg
Fakultät für Humanwissenschaften und Fakultät für Mathematik und Informatik

VR als neue und innovative Intervention verstehen und so die Einstellungs-Verhaltens-Lücke verringern.

Beyond Exhibition

Hochschule Mainz, Fachbereich Gestaltung, Studiengang Zeitbasierte Medien

Plattformübergreifende VR-Ausstellung zur simultanen Interaktion und Kommunikation von Ausstellungsbesuchern.

Visualisierung und Erkundung postindustrieller Ruhrgebiets-Standorte

Ruhr-Universität Bochum
Fakultät für Geowissenschaften

Interaktive VR-gestützte 3D-Umgebungen in der Stadt- und Landschaftsplanung zur Unterstützung von Entscheidungsprozessen.

aVRika

Westfälische Hochschule Gelsenkirchen,
Fachbereich Informatik und Kommunikation

Sichtbarmachung der aktuellen Probleme rund um die Bildungssituation in Afrika.

Virtual Reality Eye Tracking in der Parkinsonforschung

Fachhochschule Kiel,
Medien und Bauwesen, Medien

Analyse der Augenbewegung für die neurogeriatrischen Parkinson-Recherche.

Nominiert für die Kategorie “best tech”

Serious Games

Hochschule Merseburg
FB Ingenieur- und Naturwissenschaften / IMVIR

VR-Anwendung für einen spielerischen, nachhaltigen und unterhaltsamern Lernprozesses.

Madrague de Giens

Hochschule Mainz
Fachbereich Gestaltung

Virtueller Tauchgang zu einer Wrack-Ausgrabung.

Pingunauten Trainer

Universität Duisburg-Essen

Kinder spielerisch auf eine Untersuchung im MRT vorbereiten.

Visual Cues

Westfälische Hochschule
Fachbereich: Informatik und Kommunikation

Unterstützung der visuellen Wahrnehmung des Menschen bei der Steuerung eines Roboterarms durch Augmented Reality.

VR-Lackierwerkstatt

Universität Potsdam
Lehrstuhl für Komplexe Multimediale Anwendungsarchitekturen

VR-Lackierwerkstatt als Trainingsinstrument in der beruflichen Fahrzeuglackierausbildung.

Augmented Reality Content Management System

Ruhr-Universität Bochum
Maschinenbau / Digital Engineering

AR-Anleitungen für Versuche im universitären Lehrumfeld ohne Vorwissen erstellen, pflegen und durchführen.

Jurymitglieder

divr-jury-susanneahmadseresht

Susanne Ahmadseresht

@VRHamburg

Susanne Ahmadseresht arbeitet als Projektentwicklerin bei der VR-Produktionsfirma VRTUAL X und ist stellvertretende Vorsitzende von NextReality Hamburg e.V., einem Verein zur Stärkung Hamburgs als innovativen Standort zu den Zukunftsthemen.

divr-jury-raheldemant

Rahel Demant

@RahelDemant

Rahel Demants Mission ist es, Virtual Reality zu demokratisieren. Mit VR First co-gründete sie ein Konsortium führender Tech-Unternehmen, das Hackathons, Konferenzen und Bildungseinrichtungen weltweit unterstützt. Ihr drittes Unternehmen, XR Bootcamp ist weltweit das erste Bootcamp, das Teilnehmern zu Extended Reality Programmierer*innen ausbildet.

divr-jury-timmittelstaedt

Tim Mittelstaedt

@timmittelstaedt

Tim Mittelstaedt ist Gründer von timmersive mit Sitz in Hannover und Berlin. Neben seiner Tätigkeit als Lehrbeauftrager für Virtual Reality Marketing treibt er als Koordinator für Digitalisierung bei der Region Hannover und Co-Organisator der HANNOVR Konferenz Projekte der niedersächsischen VR-Szene voran.

divr-jury-lukasbest

Lukas Best

Lukas Best ist Geschäftsführender Gesellschafter bei Streamdust.tv UG. Nach ersten Karriereschritten beim klassischen Fernsehen gründete er die Livestreaming-Plattform, die sich auf die Monetarisierung via Pay-per-View von Livestreams und Video-Content spezialisiert hat. Seit Anfang 2019 ist er Geschäftsführer des EDFVR (Erster Deutscher Fachverband für Virtual Reality).

divr-jury-markusrall

Markus Rall

@MarkusRall

Markus Rall gründete 2008 in Dortmund das VR-Unternehmen viality, mit dem er VR-Lösungen für Unternehmen vom Mittelständler bis zum DAX-Konzern anbietet. Darüber hinaus ist er Vorsitzender des DIVR.

DIVR

Das DIVR ist ein auf nationaler Ebene agierender, gemeinnütziger Verein, der sich mit den Chancen und Risiken von XR Technologien (Virtual Reality, Augmented Reality, Mischformen) auseinandersetzt. Wir initiieren Foren und setzen auf diesen Impulse, um die verantwortungsvolle Implementierung von XR-Tech in der deutschen Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft zu gewährleisten. Zudem agieren wir als Kurator von Wissen rund um das Themenfeld und stellen dieses zur Verfügung.

Die Volksbank Ruhr-Mitte unterstützt den DIVR Science Award mit Sachpreisen in allen Kategorien

vb_ruhr-mitte_logo_mz-links-ohne-claim_4c

FAQ

Wer kann mitmachen?

Bewerben können sich Einzelpersonen oder Teams aus dem Umfeld einer Hochschule (Universität, FH, private Hochschule). Das kann beispielsweise das VR-Labor eines Lehrstuhl sein, ebenso gut eine Lerngruppe aus Studierenden oder ein Start-Up, das gerade seine Ausgründung aus der Hochschule vorbereitet. Entscheidend ist hier der Anspruch, sich wissenschaftlich mit dem Thema Extended Reality auseinanderzusetzen. Es ist keine Voraussetzung, das alles Teammitglieder an einer Hochschule eingeschrieben sind.

Welche Projekte können eingereicht werden?

Von Interesse sind alle Projekte, die sich mit VR, AR, XR, MR oder Mischformen beschäftigen. Voraussetzung ist, dass die Anwendung bzw. die Hardware Headset-basiert ist oder auf einem Headset ausgespielt werden kann. Marktreife Produkte sind ebenso erlaubt, wie experimentelle Prototypen. Letztere sind ausdrücklich erwünscht, wichtig ist hier, dass sie im Sinne eines „proof of concept” für Dritte testbar sind.
Erwünscht sind ein hohes Maß an Immersion und/oder Interaktion. Reine 360°-Videos ohne Interaktionsmöglichkeiten sind vom Wettbewerb ausgeschlossen.

Was tun, wenn ich mir unsicher bin, ob mein Projekt alle erforderlichen Voraussetzungen erfüllt?

Grundsätzlich gilt: eine Bewerbung ergibt immer Sinn! Selbst wenn du Zweifel hast, ob das Projekt alle Voraussetzungen erfüllt. Sollte die Jury das Projekt nicht für die Shortlist nominieren, finden wir eine attraktive Präsentationsmöglichkeit für dich im Rahmen des Places _ Festivals.

Kann ich Projekt ein zweites Mal einreichen, auch wenn ich damit schon am Wettbewerb im letzten Jahr teilgenommen habe?

Eine erneute Teilnahme mit dem gleichen bzw. erweiterten oder überarbeiteten Projekt ist natürlich möglich. Wir freuen uns dich wieder mit dabei zu haben!

Wie laufen Nominierung und Bewertung der Projekte ab?

Zunächst werden alle Bewerbungen auf Vollständigkeit geprüft. Nach Abschluss der Bewerbungsfrist (am 04. Mai) erstellt die Nominierungs-Jury (Fachleute des DIVR und des Places _ VR Festivals) eine shortlist der besten Beiträge. Die besten Wettbewerbsbeiträge (shortlist) erhalten die Möglichkeit ihre Anwendungen im Rahmen des Places _ Virtual Reality Festivals (Fr, 21. & Sa, 22.08.2020) der Fachjury und einem großen Publikum zu präsentieren. Dazu wird den Teams kostenlos eine Ausstellungsfläche im Wissenschaftspark Gelsenkirchen zur Verfügung gestellt (inkl. Strom und Internet). Technik, An- und Abreise, Auf- und Abbau sowie Personal organisieren die Teams selbstständig.  Alle Wettbewerbsbeiträge müssen am Fr, 21.08.2020 für die Fachjury zugänglich und testbar sein, nur dann haben die Projekte die Chance ausgezeichnet zu werden.

In welchen Kategorien werden Preise vergeben?
  • best concept
    Ausgezeichnet wird der innovativste Ansatz, der kreativste Einsatz von Extended Reality oder das spannendste Experiment im Wettbewerb. Im Vordergrund der Bewertung steht hier die beste gedankliche Leistung.
  • best impact
    Der Preis wird dem Projekt verliehen, in dem das größte Potential steckt, gesellschaftlichen Wandel anzustoßen oder zu beschleunigen. Welches Projekt hat die größte soziale, wirtschaftliche, ökologische oder wissenschaftliche Relevanz? Prototypen müssen dieses Potenzial bereits nachvollziehbar machen.
  • best tech
    Ausgezeichnet wird die Anwendungen bzw. das Produkt, das durch eine überzeugende Realisierung heraussticht. Die Jury sucht nach dem Besonderen in der Umsetzung, denkbar sind: sehr gute technische Qualität, hoher technologischer Innovationsgrad, einzigartige Ästhetik, ressourcen-schonende Ausführung u.v.a.m.
  • Sonderpreis „Gamechanger”
    Der Sonderpreis wird an Projekte vergeben, denen die Jury das Potential zuschreibt, in einem bestimmten Segment grundlegende Veränderungen herbeiführen zu können. Der Sonderpreis wird nur vergeben, wenn es entsprechend herausragende Wettbewerbsbeiträge gibt.

Die öffentliche Siegerehrung findet zum Abschluss des Places _ VR Festivals am Samstag Abend, 22.08.2020 in würdigem Rahmen statt.

Die Bewerber*innen legen nicht fest, für welche Kategorie sie sich bewerben. Eine Bewerbung gilt automatisch für alle hier genannten Preise. 

Warum mitmachen, was gibt es zu gewinnen?

Die Gewinner in den vier Kategorien best concept, best impact, best tech und Sonderpreis “Gamechanger” werden mit einer von einem Künstler eigens für den DIVR Science Award gestalteten Trophäe ausgezeichnet. Ein Preisgeld wird nicht ausgeschüttet. Die Gewinner-Teams erhalten weitere Sachpreise gesponsert von der Volksbank Ruhr-Mitte.
Durch die Teilnahme am DIVR Science Award erhältst du zudem die Möglichkeit dich mit anderen Universitäten, Fachleuten und Unternehmern auszutauschen und zu vernetzen. Außerdem bieten wir dir und deinem Projekt eine kostenlose Präsentationsmöglichkeit.

Was passiert, wenn der DIVR Science Award am 21. und 22. August aufgrund von Corona-Maßnahmen nicht wie geplant als Präsenzveranstaltung in Gelsenkirchen durchgeführt werden kann?

Trotz der aktuellen Einschränkungen durch die Corona-Pandemie wird der Preis auch in diesem Jahr definitiv verliehen. Die besten Forschungsprojekte werden den begehrten DIVR Science Award am 21. und 22. August beim Places _ Virtual Reality Festival bekommen. Auch dieses wird auf jeden Fall in entsprechender Form stattfinden.

“Ein idealer Realitätscheck für meinen Prototypen!”

Wie Eike Langbehn vom Award-Gewinner zum Start-Up-Gründer wurde

2019 gewann Dr. Eike Langbehn mit seiner Demo “SpaceWalk” den DIVR Science Award in der Kategorie “best concept”. In diesem Jahr ist er mit seinem Startup “Curvature Games” für den StartUp-Pitch des Places _ VR Festivals nominiert. Wir haben mit ihm gesprochen und gefragt wie er den DIVR Science Award erlebt hat und was danach passierte.

Hast du Fragen zu dem DIVE Science Award?

Meld dich jetzt bei Roman, er ist dein Ansprechpartner zum Thema DIVR Science Award und beantwortet dir alle Fragen.