Creative _ Places

For the second time after 2019, 6 artists came together to work together for a week on an art project using AR and VR. The creative people came from the neighbourhood (Beate Gärtner and Jan Schulten), from other parts of Germany (Lena Biresch, Ilja Mirski, Kathi Schulz) and from the near abroad (Lucas Dewulf from Gent, Belgium). But it is not only geographically that the artists had different origins – their creative approaches also differ. The influences range from dramaturgy to sound design, from directing to visual arts, from classical media art to immersive storytelling. On the Sunday before the Places _ VR Festival, the 6 actors met for the first time in their working laboratory for this week, the Subversiv on Bochumer Straße.

The Artists

Places _ VR Festival / Frank Vinken

Lena Biresch

Theatre director from Hamburg
lenabiresch.de

Places _ VR Festival / Frank Vinken

Lucas Dewulf

Nearly Norman
Creative technologist and immersive storyteller from Ghent, Belgium
nearly-norman.com

Places _ VR Festival / Frank Vinken

Beate Gärtner

Media artist from Essen
beategaertner.com

Places _ VR Festival / Frank Vinken

Ilja Mirsky

Dramatic advisor from Tübingen
kollektivmosaik.com

Places _ VR Festival / Frank Vinken

Jan Schulten

Sound designer from Essen
schultenmedia.de

Places _ VR Festival / Frank Vinken

Kathi Schulz

Artist from Düsseldorf
kathischulz.com

The social VR performance detached deals with the boundaries of digital and analog worlds, control and voyerism. During the three-minute performance, visitors can control the performers in a video game like setting. The commands from the visitors are implemented by the performers through their avatars in VR. The VR space in which the avatars act can be seen on a live stream projection.

Impressionen

Fotos Places _ VR Festival / Frank Vinken / Medienmalocher, Ravi Sejk

In Fridays evening’s livestream, artist Kathi Schulz was the guest of the artists’ flat-sharing community in an interview with festival director Matthias Krentzek. She talks about the life of the group, the creative process and her VR art performance entitled “DE TACHED”.

Jurymitglieder

creative-jury-danielaberglehn

Daniela Berglehn is head of the cultural funding department and curator of the VISIT program at the innogy Foundation for Energy and Society.

creative-jury-deniseguehnemann

Denise Gühnemann loves games since her childhood and King’s Quest IV. Accordingly, she has been working in the field of games and media education since 2012, currently at the Institute for Media Research and Media Education of the Technical University of Cologne.

creative-jury-danielhengst-sw

Daniel Hengst is a Berlin based media artist. For his achievements in this field he received the Dr. Otto-Kasten-Prize in 2014. In 2019 Daniel Hengst himself was part of Creative _ Places as an artist himself.

Portrait Claudia Jericho / CREATIVE.NRW 
fotografiert im Mediapark Köln

Claudia Jericho is head of the office of Creative.NRW. For 25 years, business economist Claudia Jericho has been working between, for and with culture and (creative) industry.

creative-jury-krischanwesenberg

Krischan Jan-Eric Wesenberg is an internationally active musician and producer from Gelsenkirchen. Besides his own band projects like “Roter Sand” or “Wesenberg” he produces international music acts in his local “Studio 600”.

Creative Places 2020 is a project of
Insane Urban Cowboys e.V.

iuc

Supported by innogy Stiftung für Energie und Gesellschaft gGmbH as part of the Places _ VR Festival.

Creative _ Places 2019

Vesela, Vladimir, Farina, Frederika, Clemens and Daniel moved into our artists’ flat share for one week in 2019. Find out, which ideas they developed and how they concepted their exibithion:

Do you have questions about Creative _ Places?

Contact Sabrina now, she is your contact person for Crreative _ Places and answers all your questions.

Creative _ Places

Zum zweiten mal nach 2019 kamen sechs Künstler*innen zusammen um eine Woche gemeinsam an einem Kunstprojekt unter Einsatz von AR und VR zu arbeiten. Die Kreativen kamen dabei sowohl aus der Nähe (Beate Gärtner und Jan Schulten), aus anderen Teilen Deutschlands (Lena Biresch, Ilja Mirski, Kathi Schulz) und aus dem nahen Ausland (Lucas Dewulf aus Gent, Belgien). Aber nicht nur geographisch wiesen die Künstler*innen eine unterschiedliche Herkunft vor – auch ihre kreativen Ansätze unterscheiden sich. Die Einflüsse reichen von Dramaturgie über Sounddesign, von Regie über bildende Kunst bis hin zu klassischer Medienkunst und immersivem Storytelling. Am Sonntag vor dem Places _ VR Festival trafen sich die 6 Akteure dann zum ersten mal in ihrem Arbeitslabor für diese Woche, dem Subversiv auf der Bochumer Straße.

Die Künstler*innen

Places _ VR Festival / Frank Vinken

Lena Biresch

Theaterregisseurin aus Hamburg
lenabiresch.de

Places _ VR Festival / Frank Vinken

Lucas Dewulf

Nearly Norman
Kreativer Technologe und immersiver Storyteller aus Gent, Belgien
nearly-norman.com

Places _ VR Festival / Frank Vinken

Beate Gärtner

Medienkünstlerin aus Essen
beategaertner.com

Places _ VR Festival / Frank Vinken

Ilja Mirsky

Dramaturg aus Tübingen
kollektivmosaik.com

Places _ VR Festival / Frank Vinken

Jan Schulten

Sounddesigner aus Essen
schultenmedia.de

Places _ VR Festival / Frank Vinken

Kathi Schulz

Künstlerin aus Düsseldorf
kathischulz.com

Die Social VR Performance detached setzt sich mit den Grenzen digitaler und analoger Welten, Kontrolle und Voyerismus auseinander. Während der dreiminütigen Performance können die Besucher wie in einem Videospiel die Performer kontrollieren. Die Befehle der Besucher werden von den Performern durch ihre Avatare in VR umgesetzt. Der VR Space in welchem sich die Avatare bewegen, ist auf einer Live Stream Projektion zu sehen.

Impressionen

Fotos Places _ VR Festival / Frank Vinken / Medienmalocher, Ravi Sejk

Im Livestream vom Freitagabend war Künstlerin Kathi Schulz stellvertretend für die Künstler*innen-WG im Interview mit Festivalleiter Matthias Krentzek zu Gast. Im Gespräch erzählt sie vom WG-Leben der Gruppe, den kreativen Prozess und ihre VR-Art-Performance unter dem Titel “DE TACHED”.

Presse

21. August 2020 – WAZ -Bastian Rosenkranz
Gelsenkirchener Festival “Places”: Kunst für neue Realitäten

Jurymitglieder

creative-jury-danielaberglehn

Daniela Berglehn ist bei der innogy Stiftung für Energie und Gesellschaft Leiterin des Förderbereichs Kultur und Kuratorin des VISIT-Programms.

creative-jury-deniseguehnemann

Denise Gühnemann liebt Games seit ihrer Kindheit und King’s Quest IV. Dementsprechend arbeitet sie seit 2012 im Bereich Games und Medienbildung, aktuell am Institut für Medienforschung und Medienpädagogik der TH Köln.

creative-jury-danielhengst-sw

Daniel Hengst ist ein Berliner Medienkünstler. Für seine Leistungen als Medienkünstler erhielt er 2014 den Dr. Otto-Kasten-Preis. 2019 war Daniel Hengst selbst als Künstler ein Teil von Creative _ Places.

Portrait Claudia Jericho / CREATIVE.NRW 
fotografiert im Mediapark Köln

Claudia Jericho ist Leiterin der Geschäftsstelle von Creative.NRW. Seit 25 Jahren arbeitet die Betriebswirtin Claudia Jericho zwischen, für und mit Kultur und (Kreativ)Wirtschaft.

creative-jury-krischanwesenberg

Krischan Jan-Eric Wesenberg ist international tätiger Musiker und Produzent aus Gelsenkirchen. Neben eigenen Bandprojekten wie “Roter Sand” oder “Wesenberg” produziert er in seinem Gelsenkirchener “Studio 600” internationale Musicacts.

Creative Places 2020 ist ein Projekt des
Insane Urban Cowboys e.V.

iuc

Gefördert von der innogy Stiftung für Energie und Gesellschaft gGmbH im Rahmen des Places _ VR Festival.

Creative _ Places 2019

Vesela, Vladimir, Farina, Frederika, Clemens und Daniel sind 2019 für eine Woche in unsere Künstler WG gezogen. Was sie entwickelt und ausgestellt haben könnt ihr hier sehen:

Hast du Fragen zu Creative _ Places?

Meld dich jetzt bei Sabrina, sie ist deine Ansprechpartnerin zum Thema Creative _ Places und beantwortet dir alle Fragen.