About _ Places

The Places _ Virtual Reality Festival is Germany’s first and largest freely accessible and free festival for virtual reality. The festival will enter its third round in 2021.The Places _ VR Festival is aimed equally at a professional audience, but especially at a broad public audience, and has been taking place in Gelsenkirchen-Ückendorf since 2018. The festival is a meeting point for the German and European VR industry as well as a contact point for many people interested in VR.

We make VR and AR technologies accessible to anyone. At the same time we are a place to test, learn and discover, exchange and network.

A wide-ranging programme awaits you in extraordinary urban locations: from Experience _ Places to speakers, panels, talks, workshops and the Creative _ Places art-in-residence programme, the Places _ Hackathon to the DIVR Science Award. All this is waiting to be discovered at the Places _ VR Festival 2021.

Programme highlights

A diverse programme awaits you in extraordinary locations:

  • Art in residence programme
  • Hackathon
  • University Award
  • Experience stations
  • Lectures
  • Workshops
places-2021-pfeil-unten

Review: Check out the 2020 edition

Why Places _ VR Festival?

Extended Reality technologies offer more than entertainment and gimmicks these days. After the hype comes the added value – and this becomes visible and tangible at the Places _ VR Festival.
The Places _ VR Festival 2021 makes VR and AR technologies experienceable, shows trends and offers a place for creative exchange and discussion in the middle of the Metropole Ruhr.
Since 2018, the festival has been an important platform for the German and European VR industry.

(c) Places _ VR Festival / Medienmalocher, Ravi Sejk

In 2020, we had to break new ground and were able to organise a festival under strict hygiene regulations. That’s how we finally hostet one of the year’s most highly attended hybrid VR events. We will continue on this path of a community-driven festival in 2021 and invite active and diverse networks and communities from all over Germany to Gelsenkirchen.
The third Places _ VR Festival will take place from 16 to 18 September 2021 – we look forward to seeing you and are excited for you becoming part of the Places _ VR Festival!

About _ Places

Das Places _ Virtual Reality Festival ist Deutschlands erstes, größtes, frei zugängliches und kostenfreies Festival für Virtual Reality. 2021 geht das Festival bereits in die dritte Runde. Das Places _ VR Festival richtet sich gleichermaßen an ein Fach-, aber insbesondere auch an ein breites öffentliches Publikum und findet seit 2018 in Gelsenkirchen-Ückendorf statt. Places ist ein Treffpunkt für die deutsche und europäische XR-Branche sowie Anlaufpunkt für viele VR-Interessierte.

Wir machen VR- und AR-Technologien für alle zugänglich und sind gleichzeitig ein Ort zum Testen, Lernen und Entdecken, Austauschen und Netzwerken.

In außergewöhnlichen Locations erwartet euch ein vielfältiges Programm: Von Experience _ Places über Speaker, Panels, Talks, Workshops, die Creative _ Places Kunst-WG, den Hackathon bis zum DIVR Science Award. All das gibt es beim Places _ VR Festival 2021 zu entdecken.

Programmhighlights

In außergewöhnlichen Locations erwartet euch ein vielfältiges Programm:

Rückblick: Schaut euch hier das Festival 2020 an

places-2021-pfeil-unten

Warum Places _ VR Festival?

Extended Reality Technologien bieten heutzutage mehr als Entertainment und Spielerei. Nach dem Hype kommt der Mehrwert – und der wird beim Places _ VR Festival sichtbar und anfassbar.
Das Places _ VR Festival 2021 macht VR- und AR-Technologien greifbar, zeigt Trends und bietet einen Ort für kreativen Austausch und Diskussion mitten in der Metropole Ruhr.
Seit 2018 ist das Festival eine wichtige Plattform für die deutsche und europäische VR-Branche.

(c) Places _ VR Festival / Medienmalocher, Ravi Sejk

2020 mussten wir neue Wege eingeschlagen und konnten ein Festival unter strengen Hygiene-Auflagen organisieren. So haben wir schließlich eines der besucherstärksten hybriden VR-Events des Jahres auf die Beine gestellt. Diesen Weg eines community-driven Festivals gehen wir auch 2021 weiter und laden aktive und vielfältige Netzwerke und Communities aus ganz Deutschland nach Gelsenkirchen ein.
Das dritte Places _ VR Festival findet vom 16. bis zum 18. September 2021 statt – wir freuen uns, euch zu sehen. Wir freuen uns, wenn ihr Teil vom Places _ VR Festival werdet!